It is what it is…

IMG_4830

I debated on whether or not I was going to share this post several times. I am a very private person and I do not share many things with a lot of people. That might sound weird, because I am always sharing with you all. However, I am only willing to share certain things or aspects of my life. So, basically I am a private-open person if that makes any sense at all (LOL)!

Anyways…

I am thrilled to be going on a cruise to the Bahamas in five weeks! So, last summer once I found out that I was going I had this new plan of eating right and working out regularly. Guess what? That did not happen at all.

When my grandmother passed away six months ago I had a rough time dealing with it. I was a mess. Some days I would barely eat and when I did eat I was eating very unhealthy food. I also had a rough time ending my semester, because I was struggling with two of my classes. I did not finish out the semester as strong as I usually would have, but I passed all of my classes. However, all of that resulted in me gaining some weight.

Recently, as I was preparing my outfits and purchasing bathing suits for my cruise I got a little upset with myself. I did not lose weight like I had planned to and that left me in a funk for a few days.

Guess what? It is what it is! I don’t care! I’m going to have an amazing time in the Bahamas and I’ll be looking fabulous while I’m there! I am still focused on losing weight, but I will not sulk or be upset with myself just because I am not at my ideal size. It will happen and I am going to be patient with myself.

You will have moments in life where you’ll be disappointed with yourself for whatever reasons. Of  course we all want to change certain things, but everything won’t get done exactly when we want it to. Be patient, pace yourself, and things will happen when they are supposed to. We have the power to change whatever we want to in our lives, but remember that everything happens with time. Be in the moment and enjoy life for what it is at the time!

 

Side note: I am still dealing with the death of my grandmother. Losing a loved one is hard. I have good and bad days. I was never a huge crier and now I cry all the time, because I miss her so much. I’ll never get over losing her, but I know that its going to take time. I am grateful for all of the amazing memories that I have of her.

8 thoughts on “It is what it is…

  1. lifeofthecollegegraduate says:

    Sorry for your loss dear. I too lost my grandmother a few months ago so I can relate. Enjoy your trip! Grandma would want that!

    ~Zeena

  2. yourstrulymia says:

    MaRae, I can’t even tell you how wonderful it is for you to be so open and vulnerable about your getting healthy journey and the loss of your grandmother. It’s hard to open up, especially on such a large platform, but I want you to know that by doing this you are touching someone’s life. Such a beautiful spirit. I’m so excited for you. Your grandmother would be proud!

  3. kelceepowell says:

    I’m so sorry about your loss. It’s not easy opening up about something so devastating but thank you for sharing.

    As for getting healthy, I “planned” the same healthy eating and exercising regiment when I booked my trip to Florida a few months ago and it just didn’t happen. But I’m right there with ya- it is what it is! Hope you enjoy your trip!

Leave a Reply

